December Reading & Writing Check-In

It does sometimes feel a bit backwards to be posting these at the start of the month after, but, well, it is literally my reading and writing from December. I’ve been making slow though not terribly exciting progress with editing – I’ve been spending a lot of time working on university assignments instead, but I’m over half way through my current read-through & redraft.

For the same reason, I have a smaller number of books read this month – also, since it’s been the holidays and I’ve not been taking the train most days, I’ve been having to make time to read in my free time. Imagine that.

IMG_1974

Queen of Sorcery by David Eddings – I read the first book in the Belgariad a few years ago. It’s one of my mother’s childhood favourite series, so she gave me Pawn of Prophecy for Christmas one year. Then I sort of – forgot about it, until I decided to pick up Queen of Sorcery in a second-hand bookstore. Much like the first book, I enjoyed reading it but less than a month later keep forgetting that I read it. It’s plenty of fun, the characters are very cute, and it feels like a very “classic” high fantasy book in a nice way – but it doesn’t necessarily transcend that.

Mort by Terry Pratchett – The Discworld Book Club is trying to knock out the last of the “early” Discworlds over the Christmas break, so I’ve been mostly reading Pratchett this month. This is the first Discworld book we’ve come to that I hadn’t already read as a child, so it already feels different from the others in that I’m actually having to use my brain to pay attention to what’s going on instead of filling in vague gaps in old memories. I’d been hearing a lot about how Discworld’s Death changes over the course fo the series, so it was intriguing seeing the first book to make a big attempt to flesh him out as a character.

Sourcery by Terry Pratchett – The final “early” Discworld! I think this may be the one that I struggled with the most out of the five, since the start of it is a bit difficult to slog through, particularly with the double viewpoints – instead of just having one slow fifty-page intro to get through, you’ve got two. It was definitely odd for me, as for some reason I’d imagined Sourcery as being book four and being the second part of Equal Rites in the same way that The Colour of Magic and The Light Fantastic are two halves of a whole, so it was a bit like going back to a childhood home and realising that you had, in fact, been imagining having a garden.

Leave a Reply

